Monday, November 23, 2015

Driving Law changes in 2015

Driving Law changes in 2015

Having grandkids driving now has made me more aware of this issue (and my age!).  

The changes actually went into place on July 1st - and they focus on cell phones, nighttime driving and passenger restrictions.

ALL drivers under the age of 21 will NO LONGER be able to use ANY so called cellular device (even hands-free), for ANY purpose while behind the wheel of the car.  The ONLY exception will be in the case of an emergency.  Previously - this only applied to drivers 18 and under.

If you are under the age of 21, the only passengers allowed in your vehicle while you are diving will be your siblings, your children or spouse.

Unsupervised teen drivers 18 and under will have to park their vehicles between the hours of 11pm and 5am on Sunday through Thursday evenings.  No driving is allowed between 1am and 5 am on Saturday and Sunday mornings. The ONLY exceptions will be wor work, school activities or religious event.

There was some good news that happened in July also for teen drivers.  If they complete an approved drivers ed course, they will eligible to a probationary license at the age of 16 and 90 days. The previous rule was 16 and 180 days.  The will also need to have completed a 50 hour supervised driving log and held a permit for at least 180 days.

In regards to that 50 hour diving log - teens under the age of 18 can only complete that log with:
1. A licensed driver ed instructor working under the direction of a licensed driver training school
2. A certified driver rehabilitation specialist recognized by the BMV, employed through a dirver rehab program.
3. A licensed driver at least 25 years of age AND related to the teen by blood, marriage or legal status
4. A spouse of teen driver whom is licensed and at least 21 years of age.

#driving #Indiana #drivereducation #Indianalaw

No comments:

Post a Comment